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SIGN UP ON OUR WEBSITE TO RECEIVE THE DEPARTMENT’S LATEST NEWS, NOTICES AND 

BULLETINS!!! 

 

Idaho resident producers must complete their Continuing Education (CE) prior to submitting their 

application for renewal. CE credits must have been earned during the two (2) year licensing period prior to 

the current renewal date (current license expiration date). Please be aware that any CE course taken 

BEFORE a license is issued will not be allowed for CE credit when renewing the license. Please be aware 

that any CE course completed AFTER the license renewal date will result in a late CE penalty. 

 

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT:  

For all resident producers who have one or more of the following lines of insurance: Life, Health, Property, 

Casualty, Personal Lines, Public Adjusters and Bail Bond Agents: 

 Twenty-four (24) hours of CE are required for each two-year renewal period.  

 A minimum of three (3) of those credit hours must be in the ethics category.   

CE requirements pertain to the individual licensee, not to the number of lines of authority or licenses an 

individual carries. 

 

There is no CE requirement for the line of Variable, or if you only carry a limited line such as Credit (GAP), 

Travel, Surety, Pet, Portable Electronics.  

 

CE course providers are required to upload earned credits directly into the Sircon licensing record for you; 

however, by agreement they have up to 30 days to do this. Please make every attempt to complete your CE 

courses early in your renewal period.  You may begin taking credits any time within your renewal period. 

 

NOTE: In addition to completing the CE hours, a licensee must submit his or her license renewal application 

before the license expiration date. Late application for license renewal will result in a greater fee to reinstate 

the license and other penalties as outlined below. 

 

FAILURE TO COMPLETE CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT ON TIME: 

The licensee may complete continuing education credits earned after the license expiration date, but will be 

assessed a Late CE Administrative Penalty of $100.00 during the first 30 days of delinquency; $200.00 

during the 31st  to 60th day of delinquency; and $300.00 during the 61st through the 90th day of delinquency.  

 

The completion date of any course, as defined by Idaho Rule 53, will determine which penalty amount 

will apply. (See Idaho Rule 53 at: http://adminrules.idaho.gov/rules/current/18/index.html)  
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http://www.doi.idaho.gov/producer/reinstatement.aspx
http://adminrules.idaho.gov/rules/current/18/index.html
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After the 90th day from the date of license expiration, but prior to the 365th day past expiration, if CE was not 

completed, the producer must re-test for all lines of authority, complete the CE requirement, and submit a 

new application for licensure. After the license has been expired for one year, there is no CE requirement; 

however, the producer must re-test for all lines of authority, re-fingerprint, and submit a new application for 

licensure. 

 

LONG TERM CARE REQUIREMENT 

Any producer who sells, solicits or negotiates a long-term care policy under Idaho’s Long-Term Care 

Insurance Partnership Program must receive eight hours of training in and demonstrate an understanding of 

Partnership Policies and their relationship to public and private coverage for long-term care. 

 Producers are also required to complete four hours of long-term care insurance training every 24 

months. Timing starts the date of the last course you took. 

 See Bulletin 06-5 for more information. 

 The carriers are responsible for tracking this Federally-mandated continuing education requirement. 

You must be able to provide them with proof of compliance if asked to do so. 

 This requirement schedule must be met as long as you sell Long Term Care products in Idaho. 

 For convenience, our CE course catalog has a category titled Long Term Care. All courses listed in 

this category will meet the Federal education mandate. 

FLOOD REQUIREMENT 

All insurance producers licensed in property, casualty or personal lines of authority who sell flood insurance 

through the NFIP must complete a one-time three-hour course related to the NFIP. 

 The NFIP flood insurance course is available through approved continuing education providers. 

Failure to comply with this continuing education requirement may jeopardize the insurance 

producer’s authority to write flood insurance through the NFIP.  

 The carriers are responsible for tracking this Federally-mandated continuing education requirement. 

You must be able to provide them with proof of compliance if asked to do so. 

 For convenience, our CE course catalog has a category titled Flood. All courses listed in this category 

will meet the Federal education mandate. 

SUITABILITY IN ANNUITIES REQUIREMENT 
The Idaho Legislature approved a pending rule change to IDAPA 18 Title 01, Chapter 09 (IDAPA 18.01.09), 

which became effective when the Legislature adjourned on April 4, 2013. 

 This rule is based on the 2010 NAIC Model Regulation 275 and requires the producer or insurer to 

have reasonable grounds to believe an annuity is suitable based on specific information about the 

consumer prior to making a recommendation to the consumer.  

 It requires producers selling annuity products to complete a one-time four-hour training, either 

through approved CE courses from approved providers, or through insurer-provided training that 

meets the NAIC 2010 Suitability in Annuities training requirement for course content. The producer 

training requirements are in section 16 of the rule (18.01.09.016). 

 The carriers are responsible for tracking this Federally-mandated continuing education requirement. 

You must be able to provide them with proof of compliance if asked to do so. 

 For convenience, our CE course catalog has a category titled Annuities Suitability. All courses listed 

in this category will meet the Federal education mandate. 

 

Check the website occasionally for more Continuing Education Information.  
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