TITLE INSURANCE” DEFINED: (1) “Title insurance” is the certification or guarantee of title or ownership, or insurance of owners of property or others having a interest therein or liens or encumbrances thereon, against loss by encumbrance, or defective titles, or invalidity, or adverse claim to title. This definition shall not be deemed to apply as to the business of preparing and issuing abstracts of, but not certifying, guaranteeing, or insuring, title to or ownership of property or certifying to the validity of documents relative to such title. (2) A title insurer may also insure: (a) The identity, due execution, and validity of any note or bond secured by mortgage or deed of trust; and (b)The identity, due execution, validity and recording of any such mortgage or deed of trust.
- Statutes for TA: Title 41, Chapter 27
- Rules for TA: IDAPA 18.01.01, 18.01.25, 18.01.39, 18.01.56
- Requirements Checklist
- Title Agent application fee - $50
Title Agent yearly renewal/late fee - $50
$2/day late fee up to January 31st
(Licenses are due to renew by January 1st of each year. Reapplication is required if not renewed by January 31st.)
TA licenses renew on a yearly basis. In order to renew your title agency license, please complete our
renewal packet and attach a check or money order in the amount of $50 made
payable to Idaho Department of Insurance.
Title Agent License Renewal Packet
Return the completed packet with your check via mail to:
Idaho Department of Insurance
700 W State Street, 3rd Floor
PO Box 83720
Boise ID 83720-0043
- The deadline to renew is January 1st. If you have not renewed prior to this date, a late fee of $2 a day applies up to January 31st. After that date, you will need to reapply for the license.
- TA licenses renew on a yearly basis. In order to renew your title agency license, please complete our renewal packet and attach a check or money order in the amount of $50 made payable to Idaho Department of Insurance.
SORRY – NO ONLINE RENEWAL AVAILABLE AT THIS TIME