Welcome to the DOI

 

Follow IdahoDOI on Twitter

Requirements for Non-Resident TPA – New Application

Non-Resident Applicant- NAIC Model Adopted
(Reciprocal TPA & Non-Resident Reciprocal TPA application)


Reciprocal TPA Application

If applicant currently holds an administrator's license in their home state, and their home state has adopted the NAIC Third Party Administrator Model Act, the procedure is:

  1. NAIC Uniform Application
  2. $300 filing fee - accompany the application
  3. Letter of Certification (or Certificate of Good Standing) – issued by home state
  4. Certificate of Existence issued by the Idaho Secretary of State
    (A nonresident TPA must be registered with the Idaho Secretary of State.)

Checklist

Non-Resident Reciprocal TPA Applicant

If applicant currently holds an administrator's license in their resident state, but their resident state has not adopted the NAIC Third Party Administrator Model Act, therefore, applicant declares one of the reciprocal states as its home state. The procedure is:

  1. Obtain a resident TPA license in the state in which the administrator declares as its home state then submit the following:
  2. TPA License - issued by home state (copy accepted)
  3. NAIC Uniform Application
  4. $300 filing fee - accompany the application
  5. Letter of Certification (or Certificate of Good Standing) – issued by resident state (not home state)
  6. Certificate of Existence issued by the Idaho Secretary of State
    (A nonresident TPA must be registered with the Idaho Secretary of State.)

Checklist

Other Non-Resident TPA Application - NAIC Model Not Adopted

If neither the state in which the administrator is incorporated, nor the state in which it maintains its principal place of business has adopted the NAIC Third Party Model Act, or a substantially similar law governing administrators, the administrator may declare another state in which it conducts business to be its “home state.”

   

If applicant selects Idaho as its home state, go to Designated Resident TPA application.

If applicant selects another reciprocal state as its home state, first obtain a Resident TPA license in that state. Then apply for a Non-Resident Reciprocal TPA(above) in Idaho.

Exemption: A nonresident administrator is not required to hold a nonresident administrator license in this state if the administrator is licensed in its home state and the administrator's duties in this state are limited to:

  1. the administration of a group policy or plan of insurance and no more than a total of 20% of covered persons, for all plans the administrator services, reside in this state; and
  2. the total number of covered persons residing in this state is less than one hundred (100).

Contact:

Jean Chang

Send Application to:

TPA Application
Idaho Department of Insurance
700 West State Street, 3rd Floor
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0043