Bail Bond Information
IDAHO CODE IN CONNECTION WITH BAIL AGENTS
Idaho Statutes, Title 41: Chapter 10, 41-1037 through 41-1045, Chapter 5 , 41-507 "Surety Insurance" Defined and Chapter 26, “Surety Insurance Contracts”, Rule 18-01-04 – Rules Pertaining to Bail Agents, Bulletin 11-05
DEFINITION OF A BAIL AGENT
A bail agent is a producer licensed in the line of surety insurance and authorized by an insurer to execute or countersign undertakings of bail in connection with judicial proceedings.
Residents, non-residents, individuals and business entities can be licensed as bail agents/agencies.
Regarding bond requirement:
Bail agents must carry a $15,000 performance bond, using the Department bond form secured from a Surety Company, along with an appointment to the Surety Company. If a bond is cancelled, a notice will be sent to the bail agent to remind them of the requirement and the Department will request replacement. A bond agent/agency will have 21 days from the date of receipt of this notice or until bond cancellation date to replace the bond and appointment. Failure to respond within the required time will result in termination of the license. In order to secure a bond, please download the Bond and Appointment forms and send to an authorized surety company. Once these forms are returned from the surety company, sign the bond form and forward both forms to the Department of Insurance.
- Include your original application, or submit separately if applying online.
- Include a reactivation form if you are reactivating a license cancelled due to loss of bond or appointment.
- Submit these forms any time you anticipate a current bond and appointment will be cancelled and require replacement to avoid cancellation of license – if this pending cancellation is due to a change in agency, please provide complete updated contact information with the new bond and appointment
Bulletin 11-05, new requirements legislated in 2011 for bail licensees and sureties:
This bulletin provides summaries of the new requirements legislated and effective as of April 7, 2011. Agents and sureties involved in the business of bail in Idaho are expected to be familiar with all the requirements of IDAPA 18.01.04 as well as the applicable statutory requirements of Title 41, Idaho Code. Persons with questions regarding this bulletin should contact the Department of Insurance at (208) 334-4250 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
CHECKLIST FOR APPLICATION
- Uniform application for individual/business or online application
- $15,000 bond – Applicant must use the Department’s bond form and submit original via mail
- Appointment to Surety company providing bond
- Instructions for bond and appointment: Provide bond and appointment forms to Surety company to process. When returned, send original bond form and appointment form via mail and apply for the license online. Also attach any documents and explanations required for responses to background questions on the application.
- Residents should fax a copy of exam pass slip, fingerprint receipt and waiver and consent form to 208-334-4398.
- Non-residents need not send score or fingerprints - we will check the PDB to verify license qualification in your home state.
- Fee: $80 (business or individual.) If applying by paper, checks should be made payable to the Idaho Department of Insurance and application and attachments should be mailed to:
Idaho Department of Insurance
700 W State Street, 3rd Floor
PO Box 83720
Boise ID 83720-0043
*NOTE: If unable to obtain electronic fingerprints through Pearson VUE, you must attach a fingerprint card (FBI 258 card) and an extra fee of $60 for processing the FBI background check. Please call our office for card and instructions. This method will take longer for return and will delay license issue.
Silver Key School: 208-362-6000 for Bail Class and/or Bail exam study materials.
You may also download the Pre-licensing Candidate Handbook and Content Outlines from Pearson VUE through our website under Study Materials for more information regarding the exam and exam requirements.
Look on our website under LAWS/RULES/BULLETINS for Idaho Code and Idaho Rules pertaining to insurance in Idaho. Chapter 10 of the Idaho Code, sections 41-1037 through 41-1045 pertain specifically to Bail agents and IDAPA rules section 18-01-04 pertains specifically to Bail agents.
Get on the web mailing list for notification of important department bulletins and news.
NEW!!! Bail agents are now required to fingerprint for every renewal, in addition to completing CE and transacting the online renewal. Forms and instructions for Resident and Non-resident can be found on our website on the bail pages. Results take up to three weeks, so be sure to do this well in advance of your expiration. We cannot renew the license without a fingerprint report. To speed up the process, fax receipts given you at the time of fingerprinting to the Department of Insurance/licensing section at 208-334-4398 or scan and email@example.com. Be sure to explain in a cover sheet that this receipt is sent in connection with a Bail Agent renewal and provide your license or NPN number.
This license renews every two years. Go to our website for renewal options under ONLINE SERVICES. Click on Producer Online Renewal and opt for NIPR or Sircon. A courtesy renewal reminder postcard will be mailed to you six weeks prior to your expiration date. Postcards cannot be forwarded, so make sure your address information is current at all times. You do not need to wait for the postcard, you may renew your license anytime in the six weeks prior to your expiration date. The Department considers the renewal of your license to be your responsibility, regardless of whether you receive notice or not. All renewal options are through our website, with the online option or the mail-in option and accessible on our website. Please contact the Department, 208-334-4250, and ask for Producer Licensing if you need to make special arrangements. Residents must complete 24 hours of CE within the two-year renewal period. A minimum of three credits must be in ethics. No carry-over of CE credits is allowed from one period to the next and you will not get credit for a repeated course within the same renewal period. Your CE credits must be downloaded in order to process an online renewal. Check your CE status by going to Individual CE Transcript Inquiry in the Continuing Education page.
- ONLINE license renewal requires a credit card, the fee to renew is $60 if
renewing prior to expiration date. You will find this option under ONLINE
SERVICES. Click on PRODUCER ON-LINE RENEWAL. Complete all required spaces. This
renewal will be pended to check for bond and appointment information and
fingerprint return results. A license copy will be emailed to you upon approval.
Be sure you have provided a current email address.
- MAIL-IN renewal requires
downloading your renewal form from the website and mailing to the Department of
Insurance with a check or money order. The fee is $80 if renewing prior to
expiration, $160 if the license has expired. Residents may have CE penalties if
CE was done after the expiration date (late fee of $100 every 30 days past
expiration, up to 90 days). Please call the Department to consult with the
renewal clerk if you have a question about the amount you must remit. You will
find the mail-in option under ONLINE SERVICES. Look for PRODUCER LICENSE RENEWAL
BY MAIL, enter license number and click on SUBMIT. Your renewal form will
appear, and you can download this form for mail-in with your check. Check the
address information and make any necessary changes. Initial these changes. Send
this form to:
Idaho Department of Insurance
700 W State Streetm erd Floor
Boise, ID 83720-0043
If CE was not completed within 90 days of the expiration date, you will be required to retest, complete CE, complete a paper application, submit new bond and appointment forms, fingerprint receipt, any needed background documentation and $80.
If CE was completed but the license was not renewed prior to expiration date, you will need to send the reinstatement form and $160, along with fingerprint receipt, new bond and appointment forms and any needed background documentation. If license was renewed but CE was completed after expiration, the penalty is $100 every 30 days up to 90 days past expiration.
After one year past expiration without renewing or completing CE, you must retest, re-fingerprint and reapply with paper application, new bond, appointment , any needed background documentation, fingerprint receipt, exam pass slips and $80.
If the license was not renewed prior to expiration, you must send a reinstatement form and $220, along with a fingerprint card, waiver form, new bond and appointment and any needed background documentation.
RESIDENTS must have CE downloaded prior to renewal. You can track the status of your CE by going to www.sircon.com/Idaho and clicking on Individual CE Transcript Inquiry. Bail agents must show 24 hours of CE credits total with a minimum of three credits in Ethics. Look for approved courses in the CE Course Catalog on the Continuing Education pages. Residents must also submit new fingerprints each renewal period. Plan on a two to three week turnaround for print results. We cannot process the renewal until we have the criminal history results. Residents will take the ISP form to ISP or their local sheriff’s office. Checklist for residents in the ISP area / checklist for residents out of the ISP area.
Fax receipt for fingerprints to Producer Licensing at 208-334-4398 or scan and email. Please indicate that the receipt is in connection with a Bail Agent renewal. When all CE credits have been downloaded, go to www.sircon.com/Idaho or NIPR and process your renewal. State fee is $60 for online renewal.
If you wish to renew by paper, the state fee is $80. Paper renewals go to ONLINE SERVICES, click on Producer License Renewal by Mail, input license number to get the mail in form. Send with check or money order in the amount of $80 made payable to Idaho Department of Insurance. Attach fingerprint receipt and any needed documents to the address of the Department listed on the form.
Failure to complete CE prior to expiration results in late CE penalties of $100 every 30 days up to 90 days past the expiration.
After 90 days past the expiration date of the license, the resident producer must reapply and retest as though a new agent and fulfill the CE requirement. The CE and late renewal penalties are forgiven, the fee is $80. Required items include:
- Original Exam Score
- 24 hours of CE (downloaded into system or copies of certificates of completion)
- Fingerprint receipt
NON-RESIDENTS are not required to complete CE .
If you have not renewed your license before the expiration date but you have completed CE prior to expiration, your license will require reinstatement. Reinstatement must be completed by paper form (link to reinstatement forms). The fee is $160. (link to reinstatement forms). This status is available up to one (1) year past the expiration. Reinstatement requires the following:
BAIL AGENT FAQs
Where do I get my bond?
You must contact a Surety company providing performance bonds to Bail agents and send them the bond and appointment form from our website. Many bail agencies are set up with specific Surety companies and can help you to expedite.
How do I find study material for the bail bond exam?
Contact Silver Key School of Insurance at 208-362-6000 for preparatory classes and/or bail study materials. Don’t forget to download the Pre-Licensing Candidate Handbook and Content Outlines from Pearson VUE, available through our website under Study Materials.
What is the Pre-Licensing Candidate Handbook and why do I need it?
This is a booklet provided by Pearson VUE to guide you through the testing procedures and requirements. It provides important information and phone numbers and can answer many questions you might have regarding what to expect, and how to prepare and arrange for your exams and fingerprints.
How much CE do I need to continue my license?
Resident Bail Agents are required to complete 24 hours, with three credits in Ethics. For approved courses, please consult our website under CE Course Catalog. Courses that pertain specifically to bail agents may be found under the sponsor name: Professional Bail Agents of Idaho.
What happens if I lose my bond or appointment?
You will be notified by the department if you lose your bond. You will have 21 days from the date of the notification to replace bond and appointment. You must send original bond and authorized appointment form from Surety. Failure to replace the bond and appointment will result in termination of the license. Loss of appointment is an immediate termination of license if there are no other appointments in place. If this occurs, you need to replace both bond and appointment as outlined above. If this loss of bond represents a change of agency, notify us of your new contact information at the same time.
What if I do not wish to continue my license?
Please return your license or a Loss of License Affidavit form (notarized) to the Department with a completed and signed Voluntary Surrender form.
What if I need to report a new agency or home address or phone/fax/email?
You may report a change of any information by going to our website and processing an individual address change. Email changes can be reported through the Email address change portal. Any change of contact information should be reported within 30 days per Title 41 Section 41-1008.
What if I need to report a change of name?
The Individual Name Change or Business Entity Name Change forms can also be used to report a name change. Attach pertinent legal documents (ie: marriage certificate, SS card, driver’s license, divorce decree, Secretary of State filings, etc.) showing name change and fax to 208-334-4398 or email as an attachment to firstname.lastname@example.org.