Public Adjuster Information
The Public Adjuster license is available as of July 1, 2008. This license is available to individuals, agencies, residents and non-residents. The statute addressing regulation of this license can be found in Idaho Code, under , which can be found on our web under LAWS/RULES/BULLETINS.
DEFINITION: (6) "Public adjuster" means any person who, for compensation or any other thing of value on behalf of the insured: (a) Acts or aids, solely in relation to first party claims arising under insurance contracts that insure the real or personal property of the insured, on behalf of an insured in negotiating for, or effecting the settlement of, a claim for loss or damage covered by an insurance contract; (b) Advertises for employment as a public adjuster of insurance claims or solicits business or represents himself or herself to the public as a public adjuster of first party insurance claims for losses or damages arising out of policies of insurance that insure real or personal property; or (c) Directly or indirectly solicits business, investigates or adjusts losses, or advises an insured about first party claims for losses or dam- ages arising out of policies of insurance that insure real or personal property for another person engaged in the business of adjusting losses or damages covered by an insurance policy, for the insured.
APPLICATION: RESIDENT INDIVIDUALS must take the public adjuster exam and do fingerprinting through PSI at www.psiexams.com. If applying by PAPER, attach passing score and fingerprint receipt from PSI to the NAIC Uniform Adjuster Application for Resident Individual, found on our website, along with an $80 check or money order made payable to Idaho Department of Insurance, along with a surety bond in the amount of $20,000 (see Bond Form for Public Adjuster) or an Irrevocable Letter of Credit in the amount of $20,000. Forward to the Idaho Department of Insurance, PO Box 83720 , Boise ID 83720-0043. If applying ONLINE, testing and fingerprinting must be completed with passing score. Go to NIPR.com or Sircon.com to apply online. Fee is $80 (state fees) plus electronic convenience fees. Original surety bond or letter of credit must be forwarded to department with cover letter explaining that applicant has applied online. For study materials, we recommend getting the Property and Casualty or General Lines Independent Adjuster study materials from Association Services Group – 208-344-0781, for general questions along with the Content Outline in the Candidate Handbook on our website for statute-specific questions regarding the Public Adjuster license to use as a study guide, until further notice.
RESIDENT AGENCIES must first have an Idaho-licensed designated producer and then may apply online or via paper application. If applying by PAPER, download and fill out , found on our website. Send with $80 check or money order made payable to Idaho Department of Insurance, along with surety bond in the amount of $20,000 (see ), or an Irrevocable Letter of Credit in the amount of $20,000. Forward to the Idaho Department of Insurance, PO Box 83720, Boise, ID 83720-0043. If applying ONLINE, go to NIPR.com or Sircon.com and apply online. Fee is $80 (state fees) plus electronic convenience fees. Original surety bond or letter of credit must be forwarded to department with cover letter explaining that applicant has applied online. Business entities must be legal entities and have registered their business with the Secretary of State.
NON-RESIDENT INDIVIDUALS OR AGENCIES must carry this license in their home state and may apply online or via paper application. If applying by PAPER, download and fill out the NAIC Uniform or , found on our website. Send with check or money order in the amount of $80, made payable to Idaho Department of Insurance, along with surety bond in the amount of $20,000 (see or an Irrevocable Letter of Credit in the amount of $20,000. Agencies must list at least one Idaho-licensed public adjuster as their designated producer. Forward to the Idaho Department of Insurance, PO Box 83720 Boise ID 83720-0043 . Business entities must be compliant with Secretary of State registration requirements.
RENEWAL AND CONTINUING EDUCATION: Licenses for individuals will expire on the last day of the birth month of the individual, 2 years from date of issue. Business entities expire after 2 years on 1 st day of month following date of issue. You are responsible for the timely renewal of your license. You will receive a courtesy renewal notification postcard approximately 6 weeks in advance of your expiration date. You may renew online via nipr.com or sircon.com, or via paper mail-in by going to and under ONLINE SERVICES, choosing the License Renewal by Mail option. Fee to renew online is $60 plus vender convenience fees. Fee to renew by mail is $80. You will need your license number to renew. Residents must have completed 24 hours of CE, with at least 3 credits in ethics, prior to renewing online or must attach copies of certificates of completion if renewing by mail.
REINSTATEMENT: If you have not renewed by the expiration date, please go to our web and download the appropriate form. Fill out and send in with check or money order. Fees, instructions and mailing address are all listed on the form. Non-resident individuals and agencies and resident agencies have up to 1 year to reinstate a license. Fee to reinstate for non-residents (individuals and agencies) and resident agencies is $160. After one year, reapplication by paper is required. If you are a resident individual and you did not complete your CE prior to your expiration date, please for instructions and penalty amounts. After 90 days, residents must retest and re-apply by paper and submit 24 hours of CE. After 1 year, residents must retest, re-fingerprint and re-apply via paper form. If you completed your CE prior to your expiration date, please send reinstatement form with $160 and copies of your CE certificates of completion.
ADDRESS CHANGE: You must report an address change within 30 days per Idaho Code 41-1008(6). Please go to for a free service to make address changes. changes must be made via paper form from our website. Please fill out this form and return with current license. There is no fee to change your address.
INDIVIDUAL: Please go to our website and download the form. Fill out and send with current license and attach copy of legal document showing name change (marriage certificate, SS card, driver's license). There is no fee to change your name with the department.
BUSINESS ENTITY: If this name change does not involve a change of FEIN or entity structure (Inc to LLC, for example) please use the form and submit with current license and copy of Secretary of State amendment/name change filing.
If this filing does involve a change of FEIN and/or entity structure, you will need to cancel existing license and relicense with application and fee for the new FEIN/Structure/Name, along with current license and a copy of the Secretary of State amendment filing. All active appointments and registrations will be transferred to the new license. Application must be accompanied by cover letter explaining circumstances and requesting cancellation of previous license. Notations of merger will be made in both license records. While a new license number will be issued, this transaction is considered a continuation of the original license.
DBA: If filing a DBA, please forward Secretary of State Assumed Name filing along with request to add to license and attach current license. Note: A DBA must be filed with the department before using in advertisement. A DBA is not a licensed entity, even when filed with the department and may only be used in advertisement. Only the entity or person filing the DBA may use the DBA as an assumed business name.
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE CONTACT INFORMATION: